• Andrew C
    I'm trying the free version as a try-before-we-buy to see if this product works for us.

I have an existing Glacier vault, with roughly 10 folders and 1.5Gb of files. I used FreeGlacier to upload those files into the vault, testing out that software. This vault will eventually become our cloud photo/video backup, approx 200Gb.

I set up our Glacier Vault in CloudBerry (pretty much just said it was Glacier and entered our access id and secret key). When I click on the Backup Storage tab I can see the vault I specified, but when I click the dropdown box to show the files all i get is a circling Retrieving Data, it never ever shows any files. I've tried refreshing but its the same.

I also tried to create a backup plan to upload one folder of our pics, ~150Mb. Under the Backup Plans it has a green bar going back and forth, and the message "Searching for modified files, please wait" but no files seem to be uploaded. Its been going like this for 20mins.

Im a real noob at all this stuff, we pretty much just heard that its good to get our files onto the cloud for backup and given the size people recommended Glacier.

Let me know what other info I can supply.

Cheers
    Andy C
  • Andy
    Glacier data doesn't become available immediately. you need to wait 24 hours for the global inventory to occur on the Amazon side, then you should wait another 5 hours to get the inventory for your account.
  • Andrew C
    Thanks Andy. If I have to wait, will it be like this every night when I try and do another upload of folders? Or is this a once of sort of deal, and once we are over this initial hurdle it will be quicker? - I want to upload approx 10 folders per night until I have our stuff up there (approx 200 Gb) but waiting hours each time might be a deal breaker.