• Jackie Gibbs
    Hi all.

I'm new to MSP 360. I'm trying to configure image backups offsite to Wasabi. My plan is to run a full backup and then run incrementals for up to 30 days and run a continuous backup for 30 backups. What would be the best way to do this?

I've seen synthetic backups but am slightly confused on how these actually work in the grand scheme of versioning and purging older backups.
  • David Gugick
    Synthetic backups work exactly the same as regular full backups in the context of retention. Their advantage is that they are able to leverage all of the data that's already in the cloud in order to help create the next full backup, without having to send all the data to the cloud again. So they run much faster and require less data transmission to the cloud storage provider.

So schedule exactly as you mentioned: full backups every 30 days, incremental backups in-between, and keep the number of versions / duration that you need. Feel free to post more specifics about the actual settings you're using and I can help explain anything that is not clear.
  • Jackie Gibbs
    Thank you for the response.

A couple questions.

Say I setup a full backup every two weeks using a synthetic backup. Will it automatically delete the original full backup at some point?

An example would be 1 synthetic full backup every two weeks. Incrementals between those. If I set to delete after 30 days will it eventually delete the original full at some point in the cycle?

I want to make sure that backups are deleted after 30 days though so it doesn't keep adding.

If you can suggest a best practice or configuration. I'm looking at image based backups for 30 days ongoing. Would like to do offsite and onsite if possible. These are for desktops.
  • David Gugick