• ds2
    2
    Hello,

    why there is no option to delete local deleted files after x days in hybrid plans?

    Greetings

    ds2
  • David Gugick
    105
    Apologies. The feature is on the roadmap. Do not have a date yet. I'll check with the team.
  • Lorne G
    0
    This still seems to be missing. Does this mean for hybrid backups that locally deleted files will not be deleted?

    Would this indicate that the best method is to create a local and a separate cloud job chained together instead of hybrid. I'm on the v7 track.
  • David Gugick
    105
    They will be deleted according to the retention policy, separate from that setting. You can still select the Mark Objects as Deleted in Backups option in Advanced Options and any deleted files will be marked as such in storage. That way, you can avoid restoring deleted files. And those files that are deleted locally will be kept according to retention requirements like other files.

    The option to which you are referring is not used by many customers for a couple reasons: 1. Most customers do not know when one of their customers (or themselves) will notice that they accidentally deleted a file and need it restored. So, they choose to not accelerate that deletion in backup storage. And 2. Ransomware - most customers do not want to delete files in backup storage in case a customer is hit my ransomware.
  • Lorne G
    0
    Thank you for your timely response.

    https://www.msp360.com/resources/blog/tips-from-steve-delay-purge-what-is-it-and-should-i-use-it/

    Just to be clear I followed the advice provided by this article with the exception of missing option "Delete files that have been deleted locally"

    Delete versions older than: 1 day
    Always keep the last version: yes
    Delay Purge: 90 days

    Does "Always keep the last version" override the purging of deleted files?

    The intended behavior is to give my client a 90 day window to realize a file was accidentally deleted. After that the file is gone and the space is recovered.

    I'm also interested in hearing if this is best practice or if keeping all deleted files is better. My concern would be that the required backup space would continue to grow over time.

    Thank you again for your time.
  • David Gugick
    105
    I normally would not suggest deleting versions older than 1 day. That does not provide much versioning for restore points. I guess it all depends on your negotiated RPOs with your customers. But if your customer changes a file and realizes they made a mistake and need to restore an old version, they may not be able to with those settings. In addition, if your customer is hit by some ransomware that encrypts the files in place, rather than renaming, encrypting, and deleting the originals, they may not be able to restore. I realize you have a 90 day delay on the purge, but I would rather see you use a 90 Day Retention, a specified number of versions to keep for each file, a shorter purge delay, and possibly a longer retention for locally stored files (you can have different retention settings for local and cloud).

    Always Keep the Last Version will always keep the last version of every file. This is important in case a file has not been edited in 90 days, you do not want it removed from backup storage (usually).

    If you are backing up volatile folders like browser cache folders and the like because they happen to be sub-folders, then my recommendation is to simply remove them from backup if not needed. Most customers do not run into issues where files deleted as a normal part of business results in noticeable changes to storage.
bold
italic
underline
strike
code
quote
ulist
image
url
mention
reveal
youtube
tweet
Add a Comment