• Leonardo Rodrigues
    Hello Guys ... my first post here :)

I'm studying MSP360 Backup for a while, have been using it on the lab, and I believe I have understood quite well some of the options and modes, specially while backing up to AWS S3 buckets. (I'm using "regular" backup mode, not Legacy one)

One of my main concerns is how to protect the backup, on my S3 buckets, from a ransomware attack, *even* by a ransonware that attacks the network and could, somehow, fetch S3 keys and try to mess with backup files there.

GFS retention, and Object Locking for the configured GFS retention periods, is completly understood. On the defined day a new full backup is created (and retained), GFS retention policies will be set for the configured period. For that, of course Object Lock is enabled on the bucket and on the Storage Account.

But on a worst case scenario, for example, if the Full backup is created every week on Mondays, my incremental backups from Tuesday, Wednesday, etc, would still be "vulnerable" to a malware attack, to my understanding. Only the "full" backup will receive Object Lock policies, not the daily incremental ones.

To my best knowledge, watching how MSP360 stores data on the S3 bucket, it seems files are not overwritten, appended or anything like that. On incremental backups, new files are created and uploaded. Deleted files are only "flagged" as deleted and won't be restored, if a restore action is made.

My question, finally, is ... would setting (for example) a 7 day default Governance Object Lock on the bucket avoid MSP360 from working properly? With that, I'm expecting to protect ALL files uploaded, and let MSP360 change Lock Policies when needed (access used by MSP360 do has GET and PUTObjectRetention). Considering that GFS smallest Lock Period would be 1 week (if I keep weekly for 1 week), that would never be smaller even by the remaining time calculated based on the default 7 days.