• sgadsby
    0
    Hi,

    If I backup C:\Data\ and then move some files from C:\Data\A\ to C:\Data\B, will CloudBerry Backup process this as a delete and a create? So if I move 1 GB data then it will want to re-upload 1 GB data?

    If so, could this be considered a possible feature request to track files in some form of db hash table so that they can be detected and copied/moved directly within the backup storage (eg. S3) instead of re-uploading? This would of course also provide file level deduplication.

    I have squillions of photos that are backed up and I am looking to rename them and move them for categorisation purposes. Would prefer not to re-upload them all again!

    Thanks,
    Simon.
  • sgadsby
    0
    And I guess the follow up question is, what if the file is renamed but not moved? Is that also a delete and re-upload?
  • David Gugick
    67
    Yes, we see that as a delete of the original files in C:\Data and new files created in C:\Data\A - so the data will be re-uploaded to the cloud. You can copy files within AWS from bucket to bucket and stay within the AWS cloud using the technique here: https://aws.amazon.com/premiumsupport/knowledge-center/s3-large-transfer-between-buckets/
    https://aws.amazon.com/premiumsupport/knowledge-center/move-objects-s3-bucket/

    Or you can download our Explorer for S3 and check the Options - Copy / Move Inside Cloud option and make the "Inside' option is selected.

    If you do that, you can then synchronize the local repository after the copy and edit of the backup plan to sync up the source and target.

    But depending on the amount of data, it may be easier to re-upload.
bold
italic
underline
strike
code
quote
ulist
image
url
mention
reveal
youtube
tweet
Add a Comment