• BackupFan
    0
    Hello,

    What is the best way to remove the data backed up to Wasabi when you no longer need a machine's backup? Over the past year, we have removed a few machines from MSP360, but the data is still in Wasabi. Should we just select the folder with the machine's name and delete it? Or is there a better way to clear up that space in our cloud storage?

  • David GugickAccepted Answer
    78
    Two options:
    1 - If you are still using the computer in question for backups, but do not need some older backups from old backup plans you are no longer using, you should use the Storage tab in the agent, right-click the folder in the left pane that is no longer needed, and select Delete. That will remove the backup files and ensure the local repository is kept in sync with the storage.
    2- If you are no longer backing up the computer in question and the software agent has already been removed, then you can delete the folder from the cloud storage provider's management console (just be careful to avoid removing the wrong folder).

    If you're working with a different use case, let me know.

    Thanks.
  • BackupFan
    0
    Our situation is the second option you mentioned. Thank you for your help!
  • BackupFan
    0
    Hello David,

    I have a follow-up question. On Wasabi we seem to have two backup folders listed for the same computer. What might have happened was that during the initial setup of a replacement computer, the machine had not yet been named, so there is a computer with a default "Desktop-x" name and a computer with the correct name.
    In this scenario, how would you be sure which folder is the active one? Drilling down beneath the "CBB_Configuration" folder there are subfolders with dates, but these are all from late last year.
bold
italic
underline
strike
code
quote
ulist
image
url
mention
reveal
youtube
tweet
Add a Comment

Welcome to MSP360 (CloudBerry) Forum!

Thank you for visiting! Please take a moment to register so that you can participate in the discussions!