Moved but un-modified files needing to be re-copied
Backing up to B2 storage. I notice if I move a source directory its entire contents will be re-sent/backed up again. Is there any hope for a mechanism by which moved but unmodified files can simply be moved on Backblaze's end without re-sending?
That's not currently possible. Objects in the cloud generally cannot be moved as they are write-once. You would have to perform a cloud copy and a delete for the objects in the cloud that moved locally - which is not something we support.
Are you using the new backup format? The new backup format includes client-side deduplication which would prevent the need to send all the matching file data a second time.
Thanks for the info. The new backup format sounds great (no need for any server-side gymnastics).
I'm on the Linux version so I've signed up for the beta when it's available.
Ok. I did not realize you were on Linux. If you move a file locally, it will look like a file delete and new file create to the OS and to our software. What happens with the locally "deleted" files in backup storage depends on the retention settings for your backup plan. If you have questions, please post what you are using and I'll be happy to review.
Sign in or register to add a comment.
Add a Comment
Welcome to MSP360 Forum!
MSP360 Managed Products
Managed Backup - General
Managed Backup Windows
Managed Backup Mac
Managed Backup Linux
Managed Backup SQL Server
Managed Backup Exchange
Managed Backup Microsoft 365
Managed Backup G Workspace
Backup for Linux
Backup SQL Server
Connect Free/Pro (Remote Desktop)
OSX - Files moved to new drive - any way to avoid new upload
Cloudberry backup on One Drive - Searching modified files taking long time (3 day) and not completed
Backup for Linux fails to backup files with diacritics in file names (Spanish, French, German etc.)
Problem downloading files in S3 that have moved to Glacier
Terms of Service
Useful Hints and Tips
Created with PlushForums
© 2023 MSP360 Forum