• Art Vandelay
    I'm new to Cloudberry backup and am configuring backup of a Windows server. There are a lot of confusing options, and part of the confusion is that examples found by searching online are apparently for earlier versions of Cloudberry and the options have changed, in some cases substantially. (We're running version 7.2.2.38.)

So far I have recurring incremental backups running every day that started with an initial full backup and has built up a few weeks worth of incrementals now. I'm looking at also adding periodic monthly full backups and unless I'm missing something it looks like that has to be done by scheduling a second backup plan.

First point of confusion is that when scheduling it is necessary to check off "Recurring (incremental)", only then is it possible to select "Execute full backup (synthetic if possible)". (This is one of the thing that looks very different from online examples I've found.) So what is going to happen, is the backup plan going to do both, or does the full backup setting override the incremental?

Since, the 1st backup plan, the recurring incremental, runs periodically every day that appears to be a scheduling conflict. Do I need to schedule them so they don't clash? (There was no warning given.) Will both plans run together, or will one be blocked from running until the other finishes?
  • David Gugick
    it sounds like you're using the new backup format, in that case the full will run in place of the incremental that day. But depending on your needs you may also be happy using the legacy backup plan format, is that plan is an incremental forever, but you do lose some of the newer capabilities of the new backup format like deduplication, synthetic full backups in the cloud, GFS, and immutable backups, if you need any of those more advanced features.
  • Art Vandelay
    Thanks, I used the default backup format, which undoubtedly is the new one. There's just a lot that's not clear yet on how things work with MSP360.